Movement – think, really *think*, about your body

The next time you dance, take some time to really think about how your body shapes itself and how changing your weight distribution, even slightly, can change a move. For example, if I’m doing a slow hip circle around the pole, I can do small, bellydance-esque circles and keep my center of gravity pretty much over my feet. Or…. if I’m feeling a little more dramatic, I can really swing my booty out behind me, and turn those hip circles into something that says, “Hey, hello, take a look at this. Yes, this.”

The line of your arm–to curve or not to curve? Bend the elbow for a more angular presentation, or extend waaaayyyy out for a long line?

Roll your shoulders back, and see what it does to your dancing. It won’t make you ramrod stiff, but it will lengthen every move and make it look (and feel, probably) more graceful. More like dance.

I spend a lot of time experimenting with weighting different parts of my body to see how that changes a particular move. I like to do it, and I’ve come up with some interesting floorwork or transitional moves by dancing that way.

Give it a try, you might surprise yourself!

About Gina

I am a pole and exotic dance instructor at Studio Rouge in Columbus, Ohio. Hear me when I tell you it is the best. job. ever.
This entry was posted in Expression, Kitchen sink. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

