Flow and fluidity

Most new(er) dancers — including me, when I’d just started out — ask this question (in fact, I continually ask myself this question) at some point: how can I become more fluid?

I remember watching some of the greats and thinking “oh good gravy, I’ll never be able to move like that.” Their dances had beautiful, elegant transitions, floorwork, and pole moves, all exquisitely bound together. It didn’t matter whether they were dancing to slow or quick beats, they were fluid and every single gesture was just right. In contrast, I felt awkward and mechanical, even though I was technically correct (for the most part, no one’s perfect!) in my movement. So I started to study how I moved, how they moved, and I realized something: sometimes it’s not about having perfect technique as much as it is making a move yours, making it, errr, “dance-y” in a way that fits you and your body and your frame of mind. Think about watching a talented dancer,ice skater, singer–really, any performer. There are some who are technically brilliant, but they come across as cold. Brilliance without soul. Then there are those who may not be spot-on in terms of their technique, but they leave an audience mesmerized. I know which I’d rather be.

Back to flow and fluidity–watch other dancers. Watch them a LOT. And spend as much time as you can simply dancing. I’d also suggest that you record yourself. Video doesn’t lie, for better or worse! Set aside a half-hour of any practice to dance and you’ll be amazed at how much better your flow is after a week or two. Put on comfortable clothes and dance. Do floorwork. Avoid tricks unless they are solid and you can do them gracefully with transitions into and out of. Dance to music that moves you, that you love, that you can listen to time and again without growing weary.  Allow yourself to get pretzeled up and then figure out graceful ways to extricate yourself. Move deliberately.

One of my favorite dancers in terms of flow is RhiannanNichole on YouTube. I think she’s breathtakingly beautiful to watch.

http://www.youtube.com/user/RhiannanNichole#p/u/10/VsWTDGyqCAE

http://www.youtube.com/user/RhiannanNichole#p/u/9/QpMhr6M7W6I

http://www.youtube.com/user/RhiannanNichole#p/u/8/VH28QZ6PeEI

About Gina

I am a pole and exotic dance instructor at Studio Rouge in Columbus, Ohio. Hear me when I tell you it is the best. job. ever.
This entry was posted in Cool videos, Expression, Kitchen sink, My work. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flow and fluidity

  1. Deborah says:

    The insane perfection of ‘technique’. While I loved you, Mr. Balanchine, you also ruined generations of would-be dancers… dancers that danced for the joy of self-expression and sharing.

    Gina- you’re spot on with transitions. Perfect poses are easy. I used to imagine my limbs actually longer than they are, leaving a ghost trail out of one movement and sliding in to the next, ahead of my body. Thinking that transitions are merely going from one pose to the next should be dumped in the dust. They hold equally as much emotion and power- if not more- than the actual ‘pose’.

Leave a Reply

