Why do you dance?

I dance mostly because it’s fun–and there are all sorts of things about it that constitute “fun.”  It makes me feel sexy. I get a great workout. I like how it makes me feel, inside and out. I *love* what it has done for my body (particularly my butt and shoulders–all those squat moves[!] and well, everything that uses arms, which is pretty much everything ).

But there’s a whole ‘nother layer to why I do it. When I strap on mile-high sparkly shoes and teeny little shorts, I shed my daily self and become a different person. Except I’m not really different, I’m still 100% me. But this me moves in a way that normally doesn’t fly out in public (except for that one time I snagged myself a free coffee at Starbucks for the way I picked up a dollar bill, ha!). What really happens is that this side of me, a side that’s always there, finally gets to take center stage–literally. This side of me doesn’t have work deadlines to think about, or laundry to do, or a checkbook to balance, or an oil change to schedule. Oh, no. This side of me is all about music and swinging my booty and pirouetting and spinning and feeling like I can fly.

My other (but not really) self

About Gina

I am a pole and exotic dance instructor at Studio Rouge in Columbus, Ohio. Hear me when I tell you it is the best. job. ever.
This entry was posted in Expression, Kitchen sink, Shoes!!! (yes, it's worth three exclamation points). Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why do you dance?

  1. Always and forever will be one of my hero’s. You go with your beautiful self! 🙂

    GAPS *winks*

Leave a Reply

