“ARGHHH, I will never be able to ABC”

Have you ever said that to yourself?

Maybe it’s time to stop trying. Yes, I said that. But I don’t mean stop trying permanently. Sometimes you have to take a break from a move in order to get it. I know that sounds woefully counter-intuitive, but I’ve seen it happen time and again with my students. Heck, it’s happened to me several times.

When you give yourself permission to stop trying so hard to get. that. one. trick! you give yourself permission to start enjoying dance again. And even though your mind’s free of the frustrations and tension of the ARGHHH, it’ll continue to process the ARGHHH move somewhere in the back. It’s astounding, really. Then, at some point, you’ll think “hey, I haven’t tried that move in a long time. I wonder…” and boom. There it is, or there it is sometimes–often enough that I believe in the power of giving up (temporarily)! Push yourself in other ways–push yourself to put yourself into your dance, to be more fluid in both your tricks and your transitions (’cause it ain’t dancing without transitions!!!), to perfect the moves and tricks you know.

Let it go. Just let it go, and when you’re ready, you’ll do it.

About Gina

I am a pole and exotic dance instructor at Studio Rouge in Columbus, Ohio. Hear me when I tell you it is the best. job. ever.
This entry was posted in Kitchen sink. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

