Why is it so difficult to find the physical beauty in ourselves?

When you ask a woman what she likes about herself, the answers usually center on inner beauty. I am a great mom, I am smart, I am a hard worker, etc. And I think inner beauty is fantastic–it’s who we are, how we love, what we give to and get from life. But women seem trained to not be able to appreciate their own physical beauty. I fall into this trap. I think most of us do. If we find even one small negative thing about the way we look, we often find ourselves obsessing over that thing to the point where we can’t find anything to appreciate about the way we look. Or that small spot of negativity breeds, and before we know it we don’t feel right in our own skin… because we see that skin as flawed.

If you ask almost any woman to name something about her PHYSICAL self that she likes, it seems the answers are so difficult–or they come with apologies or caveats. I like my nose BUT hate my mouth… or I’m glad I have big boobs BECAUSE they balance out my too-big hips, I would love my hair IF it weren’t so frizzy.

Well, no more of that crazy talk! Why do we feel the need to apologize for something good about our looks? Maybe it’s because we don’t want to seem vain. Maybe it’s because we really can’t see those attractive physical attributes. Maybe it’s for some reason we don’t even know about.

At any rate, it’s time to stop it.  🙂

Everyone, please, tell me at least one thing that you love about the way you look. NO excuses, no IFs or BUTs or BECAUSEs, no disclaimers. Look in the mirror and for once, just admit that you have hotness staring back at you! Like your nose? Have shiny hair? What about your great shoulders?

About Gina

I am a pole and exotic dance instructor at Studio Rouge in Columbus, Ohio. Hear me when I tell you it is the best. job. ever.
This entry was posted in Kitchen sink. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

