Things we wish we’d known…

I polled some other dancers for things they wish someone had told them once upon a time… here are some of the responses I got. There’s an interesting mix here!

  • The importance of being able to freestyle. The importance of movement and dance. The importance of developing myself as a dancer. I may not have listened (“teenager” dancer syndrome lol) but still.
  • You need structured, consistant lessons in order to learn pole.  If you think you’re just going to jump on and go into an extended butterfly, or even a climb by figuring it out on your own…..not going to happen.
  • S t r e e e e t c h !!!!!
  • Be persistent and consistent!!!!
  • How much money I was going to spend on bras, booty shorts, shoes, tank tops and music!  Oh, yeah, and classes and workshops.  I really don’t want to sit down and work out that figure…..
  • That I would experience and subsequently break out of many, many plateaus. Each one has felt final, none have been.
  • I wish someone had have told me how to invert correctly. Untraining bad habits was very difficult. Proper form to begin with would have been nice.
  • I would’ve started constantly stretching at the tender age of 1 if I knew I was gonna be pole dancing at the age of 26.
  • To stretch, something I never did growing up and I’m paying the price…
  • I wish I had been taught how important being able to freestyle really is.  Also how to do basic pole moves correctly.  It’s hard to re-learn something.
  • Stretching and keep working on it even when you don’t get it. Listening to myself when a little voice was saying…bad idea!!! Painful lesson lol.
  • I wish someone had told me what great friends I would find in the pole community!!!!
  • I wish someone had told me that no matter how fast I was advancing at first, that, no, I wasn’t going to learn everything about pole in six months and be competing in a year.  I wish they had told me that I’d just embarked on a journey that was going to take many years and lots of hard work, and that I should take a deep breath, slow down, and enjoy the process of learning, rather than focusing on how good I could become.
  • I wish someone had told me how to properly structure a workout. I had to learn over the years through trial & error, if I’d known proper technique I’d have better form & development.
  • I wish someone had told me how distracting pole can be. Listening to the radio while driving and instead of seeing the road, seeing what moves’d be good with that tune.
  • That there was people more advanced than me. lol.
  • That it’s normal not to progress as fast as ‘everyone else’ does, and that I would definitely get better over time.
  • That I would probably get injured somewhere along the way, and that minor sprains and pulls are normal, pretty common, and not something to freak out and worry so much about!
  • That not all of my friends would ‘get’ how pole isn’t just another hobby but an entire awesome lifestyle, and not to care if they don’t. Cos no one else gets a pole dancer the way her pole sisters do! 😉
  • I wish someone would have told me the importance of freestyling for sure, the importance of flexibility training and how important in person instruction is.
  • I wish somebody told me that splits are something special and can go away if I do not do them time after time.
  • The beauty and importance of floorwork. I used to only look for tricks but now i value floorwork so much more as it plays such a vital role in your dance.
About Gina

I am a pole and exotic dance instructor at Studio Rouge in Columbus, Ohio. Hear me when I tell you it is the best. job. ever.
This entry was posted in Kitchen sink. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

