I know how to do “X” but now what do I do with it?

Anyone who pole dances (notice I didn’t refer to pole fitness, that’s a different thing entirely) knows that it’s not about the tricks you can do, but how you incorporate them into a dance. And that, my friends, means you need to work on transitions.

For me, transitions often come as a result of problem-solving. I get pretzeled up in a move and, in figuring out how to extract myself, I suss out a transition for it. For example, when I was working on my aysha, I normally used an inverted crucifix as my emergency exit. One day I was tired and only managed to hook one leg on the pole …. and I discovered that aysha to shooting star is both simple to do and (once cleaned up) looks nice. Yay!

Accidental transitions are great, but at some point you’ll probably want to actually think about how to get into and out of things, and you’ll want to try out your ideas. Here’s how I do it: start with a keystone move, let’s say outside leg hang. Think of all the possible ways I can get into an outside leg hang. These include (but certainly aren’t limited to) regular invert, inverted V, aysha, side climb, hood ornament, back hook, hip hold, etc. Pretty much any one of the “into”s can also be considered an “out of” — so there are my ideas for transitions/combinations. Now I think about where hands will need to go, where my contact points will need to be, where I’ll need to be looking, all those crucial elements.

Then I start trying things. Sometimes they work. Sometimes they don’t. Sometimes they’re close and I could see them working with something in between to bridge them.

Experiment! And if you come up with anything awesome please come back and post, I’d love to hear about it!  🙂

 

 

About Gina

I am a pole and exotic dance instructor at Studio Rouge in Columbus, Ohio. Hear me when I tell you it is the best. job. ever.
This entry was posted in Expression, Kitchen sink. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I know how to do “X” but now what do I do with it?

  1. krissykiki says:

    I’m currently trying to figure out transitions for moves and to bring dance back into my pole dancing. I learned at a very pole fitness studio where dance was never a part of the class. It can really be hard to figure out how to blend the dance with the moves sometimes.

    • Gina says:

      It sure can! At our studio we emphasize the dance, but I know a lot of studios don’t… and a lot of folks don’t really want it. There’s a fit for everyone, eh? One thing that has helped me is to watch dancers whose style I love, and I watch the transitions, not the moves. It’s kind of hard to get used to watching videos that way, but it’s really helpful!

  2. It’s true! chaining everything together is such a mental workout

Leave a Reply

